When did I become uptight and no fun?

So...I've been a mom for 7 years and 7 months now and it has definitely changed me.  Don't get me wrong, even when I was in Jnr. High, High School and College I was known as a "party pooper".  I never stayed up all night at slumber parties because not getting sleep always made me feel sick.  I was not a "partier" in High School, I didn't stay out past curfew or drink with my friends.  I wanted to be responsible, not make my mom worry.  Even so, I knew how to have fun and be goofy.  Maybe it was singing to Back Street Boys as loud as possible in my car while driving my friends to youth group (let me be clear though, I liked them "ironically" in a hipster way, not for reals).  Or maybe it was driving home from college on the weekend with my friend Jessica and doing "the shaker" or other silly dance moves.  Back in High School I could TP with the best of them and play friendly pranks on my friends.  In college I loved spontaneous beach trips, enjoying the occasional cigar or the random "hey let's go to San Diego right now and stay at so and so's house on the floor".

I have noticed lately though that I am the world's worst "Debbie Downer" when it comes to how I am with my kids.  All I hear coming out of my mouth is "tone it down that's too loud", "stop jumping and running around!", "look at that huge mess you made!"...the list goes on and on.  So this has brought me to ask myself "dude, when did you get so uptight?!"  It's hard to change but I am determined to "chillax" as best as I can.  I want to be the mom having random dance parties and teaching my kids what Funk is (my hubby does this awesomely by the way).  I want to be the mom acting goofy in public with her kids and not giving a shit what other people are thinking.  I want to be the mom who doesn't take herself too seriously and as a result shows her kids how to not take themselves too seriously.  There are a lot of things that make up "the mom I want to be" and I am doing to try damn hard to get there but in the meantime I'm just going to work on taking a breath, having fun, laughing and CHILLING OUT.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

She, He, Them

My Calling

Paleo Fish Tacos