Parenting shows us who we really are...
Parenting
is absolutely one of the hardest jobs, in my opinion at least. Thing is, it’s not really a “job”…it’s more
of a lifestyle choice. I know that
sounds weird but I can’t think of another way to describe it right now. When you become a parent, it is your
life. There is no “off” time, no “vacation”
time because even when you’re away from your kids physically, you still worry
about them/think about them/miss them etc. etc.
Whenever I write a blog it’s because I was inspired in some way, this
time unfortunately my “inspiration” was not a good one, more of a
disappointment actually. I have found
that one major thing parenting does is shine a light, through a microscope on
who I really am. Sometimes it magnifies
parts of me that are awesome, other times…not so much. Today is the latter.
I yell
at my kids WAY TOO FREAKING MUCH. There
it is people, the raw, gritty, uncomfortable truth. I hate this about myself and while I have
been “working on it” for a while now, today it hit me that this just needs to
stop. After a day like today, I see the
screen saver on my phone (Zoe about 2 years ago and cute as ever) and just want
to cry. I’m like, how could I ever yell
at that sweet, innocent face? Kieren has
such a sweet heart and is sensitive like me, but at times he just explodes and
I’ll be thinking, “wow where did that come from?” Well…………yeaaaaahhhhhhh. When I yell at my kids and mostly for stupid
things like toys on the floor that haven’t been picked up after I asked 5
times, or the water bottle fell and exploded water everywhere; I look back at
myself and think, wow what the hell is wrong with you? It makes me feel like a horrible mother. I’m not just having a pity party here, I feel
like if I write this and acknowledge it, I can change.
When I
worked at the grocery store, one day this lady snapped at me. Admittedly I had had a very long day when
that happened, but it made me cry. So,
how do my kids who are only 3 and 6 feel when I yell at them? The last thing I want is for them to be
scared of me or have issues with confrontation or communication. I want them to trust me, talk to me…but how
can I expect that unless I change NOW? I
am a neat freak and when you have kids that’s just not good. I need to CHILL OUT and stop “sweating” the
small stuff. I need to give myself a
time out, splash cold water on my face, do 10 jumping jacks…whatever it takes
to cool off. I’m trying to teach Zoe to
stop screaming all the time? After
typing that sentence I just want to laugh at myself. I’m trying to help them learn how to control
their emotions? LMAO. I am the worst offender.
Lord,
help me. Seriously. Help me to have patience…like supernatural
patience and grace. Help me to get in
touch with my inner “kid” and lighten up.
Comments
Post a Comment