Posts

Showing posts from February, 2016

The Best Intentions and High Expectations...

Before 9 am it is inevitable that someone is throwing a full blown tantrum in my house.  It could be me or it could be one of the older kids (thankfully Freija isn't at tantrum stage yet).  The other night I thought to myself, I'm going to start the morning with some yoga and get the kids to join me.  What a great way to begin our day, calm our spirits and make our bodies feel good!  I had visions of Kieren, Zoe and I doing yoga with birds chirping in the background and our day just being miraculous, with no fighting or screaming or "I'm done! I give up!" (from Kieren).  I went to sleep with high hopes people.  I thought, hey tomorrow is a new day!  Well if I could get in a time machine and go back and talk to myself I would just laugh in my face and say "fat chance Jasmine!". After breakfast I put on a You Tube video of a woman doing Surya Namaskar (salutations to the sun) it's simple and short (that' why I picked it) but I have fond memories ...

Beautiful

I rarely wear make up and if I do it's a little eye shadow and sometimes face powder but on the rare days I do put it on, of course Zoe is right there next to me staring up at me the whole time.  She usually says something like, "wow you're beautiful" or "you're more beautifuler than me"...which makes me cringe.  The other day I found myself really upset that she was watching me and wondered why I felt so strongly.  I always tell her that I don't need make up but I wear it because it's fun.  Of course it makes me feel good when she says she thinks I'm beautiful but it breaks my heart to hear her say, "you're more beautifuler than me"...I mean, where does that come from?  She's five and she's already comparing herself to other women?  I hate that.  Is it so ingrained in our culture that young girls are already thinking that way?  I have never acted or spoken that way around her, I have never compared myself to other women...